After graduating in composition from WAAPA in 2006, Murray moved to Graz, Austria to study with Bob Brookmeyer, Ed Partyka and Ed Neumeister. On returning to Australia and settling in Melbourne, creating bands to write for became a focus. Murray formed his big band ATM15 and funk ensemble The Randy Anderson. ATM15 have released four albums over the last decade while being nominated for Music Victoria and Jazz Bell Awards. During this time Murray won Sweden’s International Composition Contest, and Australia's National Big Band Composing Competition featuring the Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra.

A recent collaboration with creative vocalist Josh Kyle produced ‘Trombone Song Cycle’, an album of obscure love songs that received the 2019 APRA Art Music Award, and the Jazz Bell Award for Vocal Album of the Year. Featured on the album alongside Kyle and Murray is the extraordinary trombone quartet of James Greening, Adrian Sherriff, Jordan Murray, and James Macaulay.

In addition to all the members of ATM15 and The Randy Anderson, Murray's work as a musician has led to collaborations with Fred Wesley, Sarah Blasko, The Teskey Brothers, Ali Barter, C.W Stoneking, Linda May Han Oh, Georgie Darvidis, Mace Francis, Invenio Singers and Jono McNeil.


Murray has performed at the Sydney International Jazz Festival with the Sydney Con Jazz Orchestra, performing his original 50-minute composition 'New Works'. He has acted as musical director for 7 Songs To Leave Behind, the Birds Basement Big Band, Victoria Police Bands, and the 2015 & 2017 Stonnington Jazz Festival opening night galas.

Photography by Hayley Wilson